Blur Announces New Album, Shares Song

With all the success of Damon Albarn's wildly popular Gorillaz, its sometimes easy to forget that Blur were once icons in their own right. Though, this can perhaps be forgiven, as they haven't really had much to say for the last eight years. That wait is over, as they have announced a new full length, titled The Ballad of Darren will be released on July 21st. It is their first new albums since 2015's The Magic Whip.
 Each member shared a brief statement on the intention and process of the record:

Damon Albarn: “This is an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.”

Graham Coxon: “The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job.”

Alex James: “For any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.”

Dave Rowntree: “It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted.”

Check out the complete track list, as well as new single 'The Narcissist' below.

The Ballad of Darren:

01 The Ballad
02 St. Charles Square
03 Barbaric
04 Russian Strings
05 The Everglades (For Leonard)
06 The Narcissist
07 Goodbye Albert
08 Far Away Island
09 Avalon
10 The Heights

You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered