Mavis Staples Announces Live Album With Levon Helm, Shares Video

Mavis Staples has announced a collection of live tracks recorded with late The Band drummer Levon Helm. Carry Me Home will be released on May 20th via Anti. Recorded at Helm's studio in Woodstock, New York in 2011, not only are the recordings among Helm's last, they also capture Staples' and Helm's final performance together, as Helm passed away in in April of 2012 at the age of 71.
 In a statement, Mavis shared: "It never crossed my mind that it might be the last time we’d see each other. He was so full of life and so happy that week. He was the same old Levon I’d always known, just a beautiful spirit inside and out."
 Check out a live video of 'You Got To Move', as well as the full track list below. 
Additionally you can click HERE to check out our Mavis Staples selection and HERE for The Band.

Carry Me Home:

01 This Is My Country
02 Trouble in My Mind
03 Farther Along
04 Hand Writing on the Wall
05 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
06 Move Along Train
07 This May Be the Last Time
08 When I Go Away
09 Wide River to Cross
10 You Got to Move
11 You Got to Serve Somebody
12 The Weight

You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered